Musical Memories – Like A Virgin

It was 1984, the year I graduated from high school.  Life was good.  I was 18 and thought I knew everything and I discovered night clubs.  It was Nicky’s on Old National Highway in College Park, Georgia.  I wasn’t supposed to drive on Old National my mother thought it was too dangerous for me.  Me being the rebellious kid I was would find an excuse to drive on Old National.  My friend Kathy’s brother Bobby worked at Nicky’s so we could get in.  It was so exciting.  Flashing lights, great music and men.  There are two songs that always take me to that time and place.  Like a Virgin by Madonna 

And I’m just going to leave you with the name of the other because it’s the same time and same place but a whole different memory, it was The Chair by George Strait. So Madonna takes me back to a bar stool and dancing and Singapore Slings. Thanks Madonna.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

