Loved Him Then, Love Him Now – Rhett Butler

Watched Gone With the Wind again last night. I read the book for the first time when I was ten years old and have been in love ever since. It’s been one of those evolving love affairs. At first I just felt sorry for Scarlett because Rhett left her. Then I felt sorry for Rhett because Scarlett just couldn’t get it. Last night I was thinking if they could only catch a break. Scarlett really got a bum deal when she and Ashley got “busted” at the lumber mill. It was innocent. Then she fell down the stairs. She still wasn’t over that when they lost Bonnie. Then Melanie died. How was any relationship going to bear all of that. I like to think they got back together eventually but never ever in any reality I know, the way Alexandra Ripley wrote it. Not to speak ill of the dead but come on. So here he is without further ado, Rhett Butler.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

