Musical Memory – With an Odd Twist

My Author friend Jillian Chantal (check her out at www.jillianchantal.com) does soundtracks for whatever she is writing.  The other day I was in her office and David Soul’s Don’t Give Up on us Baby was playing and I told her  I was going to have to use it in my blog.  I am a firm believer in giving credit where credit is due.  Anyway… The reason this musical memory is a little bit odd is because of the memory in evokes.  Here’s the song

So it’s a sweet song.  Yes it is about a couple on the verge of breaking up but it’s not morose, do you think it makes me think of love even unrequited love?  Ohhhh No.  It makes me think of the movie and book that scared me the most.  Salem’s Lot.  It’s not a complete stretch David Soul was in the movie. 

I was 13 years old and that movie terrified me.

Those boy vampires scraping on the windows wanting to get an invitation to come into the house…oh my goodness.  I had to sleep on my side with my back to my window because I thought they were going to be there.

So a sweet love song sometimes send chills down my spine.  The mind is a strange thing. 

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Hehehe. I love that a love song evokes a scary movie for you. There’s actually some poetic karma to that. Love=scary. Thanks for the shout out.

    Reply
    • Love can be scary. It is funny how the mind makes those connections. Don’t think I have any others that are this much of a stretch. Always glad to give you a shout out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

