Musical Memories – A Montage for My Brother

There are some songs that always make me think of my brother.  My brother is eight years older than me.  So in 1974 when I was eight he was sixteen.  So we weren’t always really close.  But I guess I looked up to him in many ways.  I learned to love muscle cars especially Mustangs from my brother.  I learned to appreciate some music that I might not have otherwise.  From 8 to 12 I would probably not thought twice about Led Zepplin or Paul McCartney and Wings or Eric Clapton.  It was the Bay City Rollers for me.  Of course I did appreciate Kiss and Elton John but it was pretty much pop stuff except for my the music my brother listened to and exposed me to when we were growing up.  We camped a lot as a family so my brother and I spent a lot of time riding in the back of my Dad’s truck.  He being older and bigger won out with the choice of music we listened to on trips.  There are three songs that always take me back to the back of that pick-up truck and camping trips.   I just remember it being fun and can almost hear my brother singing along with the choruses.  “I shot the sheriff but I did not shoot the deputy”   I can hear him now.  Here are those songs. 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

