Musical Memory – Billy Don’t be a Hero

When I was a little girl and probably up until the time I was 16 or so my family vacationed in Gulf Shores, Alabama.   We camped at the same campground every time, Laguna Park.  The Lagoon was shallow and you could walk all the way across the gulf.  It was great fun once my cousin Amy and I were old enough (tall enough probably) to make the walk on our own.  This song always makes me think of my summers there as a younger child.   We did stuff like catching fireflies, spinning in circles with our arms outstretched until we fell to the ground,  playing in the sand on the beach until we had to come in, catching fiddler crabs in sand buckets.  Life was good.  One year there was a bunch of scrap lumber and we built a wooden tee-pee it was just big enough for Amy and I to sit in but it was cool.  I believe that was the same year we planted peas (the bug stung peas that got thrown out when they were being shelled) and the darn things grew in the sand.  Unwatered and untended they grew.  Life was good.  That’s part of the reason I love this song it takes me back to that time and place.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

