Aspiring Writers

Although I’ve had three short stories published (two paper publications and one in an awesome e-zine) I still consider myself to be an aspiring writer.    Despite the fact that I consider myself to be an aspiring writer the fact that someone found my writing worthy of publication was priceless.   As my very successful author friend Sarah Smiley told me the biggest reward writers receive is the validation of having others appreciate and read your work.    Some people have asked how I’ve gotten to this point.   I really don’t know what to say except, write, write, write and the hard part you have to put your work out there.   So if you’re looking for a home for some shorter writing check out the two sites that have published my writing.  They are both seeking submissions and are just awesome people to work with as an aspiring writer.   Whortleberry Press is working on their annual Halloween Anthology and the New Bedlam Project is seeking submissions for the next issue of their e-zine.    Even if you aren’t interested in submitting to either of them, I think you’ll find them  interesting.   Good luck and happy writing.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Paper Tiger Press

     /  July 15, 2010

    Thanks for the ideas in this blog. You’re validation should be clear. I think you are a writer from this vantage point in reading your blog. I aspire, but really I enjoy writing, and a person who can enjoy something gains a great deal from the experience. I encourage you to keep writing!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your kind comments. The blog has just been something totally for fun. I do enjoy my writing very much. It’s always interesting to see where it’s going to take me. I have to find some discipline in it though. My larger projects go uncompleted or un-edited because I don’t take the time to go back to them and do what needs to be done. Having checked out your blog (which I hope you don’t mind I’ve added to my blog roll) I encourage you to keep at your writing also. I really like your Free Writing. Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you’ll drop in again as I will certainly be revisiting yours.

      Reply
  2. Paper Tiger Press

     /  July 16, 2010

    I have the same trouble, get the ball rolling and you see a better ball. Or something like that! I am working on a novel now that has been interrupted by old ideas. Need to push past them and get with the finishing myself. Don’t give up, a completed thing is 10 times more positive and encouraging than uncompleted wreckage. Keep writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

