Movies From Books

What are your thoughts? Best done? Worst done? Most true to the book? Most strayed away? I love the Harry Potter books and movies. I think the adaptations to the big screen have been nearly as well done as they possibly could be. Casting has been fabulous. Casting brings me to the adaptation I have not been able to bring myself to watch. I read all the Twilight books in about 2 weeks. I had a picture of him in my head that is far far away from Robert Pattinson. I like the Edward in my head and don’t want to spoil it. Gone With the Wind. Even in four hours you couldn’t include the whole book, I think they did a good job even though they did cut out Scarlett’s other kids. Hunt For Red October big thumbs up. Patriot Games Okay. Clear and Present Danger, I don’t think so. Those are the biggies that come to mind at the moment. I have to include Bond here. I must admit, I haven’t read the books. Which Bond movie and/or actor do you think portrays Ian Fleming’s Bond the best?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Darlene,

    Is it wrong to admit I don’t watch James Bond movies? LOL I normally hate when books I love go to the big screen, and was so nervous when Lord of the Rings was going. Of course, I was still there opening night for the first one…and I loved it. Oh, there were pieces of the story that I missed, Tom Bombadil for instance, but overall, it was probably one of the most brilliant adaptations ever.

    Holly

    Reply
    • Holly,

      Thanks so much for dropping by. It’s not wrong not to watch Bond movies. I didn’t watch any of the Pierce Brosnan Bond movies. As I said he was just too pretty =) for my taste. I have to admit I haven’t seen the Lord of The Rings movies yet. Need to plan a marathon day and watch them all. Thanks for your thoughts on the subject.

      Darlene

      Reply
  2. Darlene,

    You really should see them sometime…they were really great! And thanks for not holding James Bond!

    Holly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

